MINI Cooper Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm considering doing a Novice track day session at one of the circuits in the South of the country. I have no experience of driving on track. Any advice would be much appreciated on the following points;

1.) Are there any circuits that don't use gravel traps? the thought of losing it and then covering my beloved in stonechips is quite a worry.:puzzled:

2.) Is it expensive to get insurance?:aargh:

3.) How will my car stand up to the (ab)use?:confused:

4.) Is this a really bad idea and should I wait until I win the lottery to play 'Lewis Hamilton':nice:

Thanks!

·
THE STICK
3,902 Posts
1. For a begineer bedford autodrome or one of the few other airfield tracks is the best idea. Generally very few guard rails, few gravel traps and big run off grass areas. They also tend to be flat circuits allowing you to concentrate on the handling of the car in the corners without throwing you curve balls with surface undulation. Good for a beginer.

2. Yes insurance is quite expensive. Many folks don't bother with it (but this is very risky IMO). Speak on a PM with Lee 2 Much, Bhozar and Bigshow for details of who they are using. I think Bhozar actually get some free track days included in his annual policy!