MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry if I sound like an idiot - I'm new to minis and got my first one yesterday, '07 Cooper.

The warning light of an exclamation mark in a triangle has come on (next to the mileage) and has been on all day. The manual says that it means that the car will start if the on/off button is pressed and that the clutch may not need to be in. I don't understand what it means? Is there a problem? And if not, how do I turn it off?!

Sorry if I'm being a bit dim!

·
Super Moderator
4,644 Posts
It's your traction control light... I know there was a problem with this on the first gen cars, where it came on with the ignition, and wouldn't turn off. This is the first time I can recall hearing about it on a second gen car...

Probably going to require a trip to the dealer I'm afraid.

Edit: Scroll down... better, more likely explanation offered. :eek:

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you! Sounds like a trip back to the dealer is in order. I hoped it might be some button I'd pushed by mistake! x

·
Super Moderator
4,644 Posts
No worries! I might be wrong, but the ABS control unit does seem like the most obvious explanation... get it booked in ASAP, and take it easy in the meantime.

Good advice would probably suggest against driving the car unless absolutely necessary until the problem is rectified. :)

·
Registered
368 Posts
you sure you dont mean the little warning light that comes up if you have a non serious warning like low petrol low washer fluid etc, i think thats what he means? its right between the trip and the milage i think

·
Super Moderator
4,644 Posts
you sure you dont mean the little warning light that comes up if you have a non serious warning like low petrol low washer fluid etc, i think thats what he means? its right between the trip and the milage i think
That's a very good point... :eek: