MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If I put bonnet stripes on my car does it imply that I am an exceptional driver? (I'm sure that my skills are average.) Did the original mini ever come from the factory with bonnet stripes, or where they always added by the owner?

·
Moderator & Sponsor
3,758 Posts
It has to do with the Cooper racing heritage. Cooper race cars, including the winning Formula One cars, had the pair of white stripes in a sort of V-shape.

Later, in the mid-1960's classic Minis campaigned by John Cooper's Team had the bonnet stripes applied to them, continuing the team's stripe theme onto Minis.

When the Cooper model of the classic Mini was relaunched in the early 1990's, bonnet stripes came with it. At the same time they became a popular owner-added feature on older classic Minis. So, it was at this time, within the past 10-12 years, that stripes became popular on street Minis.

Of course, this has continued with the new MINI. :)

Attachments

·
Premium Member
310 Posts
Or as some people call them in Dodge circles (the R/T's) "HP adders":D So the question should be - Do they add horsepower?;)

·
Registered
5,722 Posts
Bonnet stripes are all about history & heritage of the name COOPER :cool: :cool: What does annoy me though is bog standard MINI's with Cooper stripes :mad: :mad: Suppose its like a 318i with M3 badges :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

·
Lights are on but...
10,330 Posts
Basil said:
Here's another.......

Don't you think threads are soo much more interesting with pictures.........:)
Thread are certainly better with pictures especially like the above! :)

COME ON 25th MAY!!!!! HURRAY UP!!!!!

·
Lights are on but...
10,330 Posts
Finaly realises point of thread...

...I don't think they imply anything (other than maybe a difference in taste/style)...they just add an extra 10mph top speend and help lose a second in the 0-60.