MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will say it right of the bat....I am a complete newb when it comes to washing/maintining the exterior of a car. Previous car I only washed...and that was not a quality job, since it was an SUV and got dirty pretty fast, i just cleaned it every week.

So, I got my Mini...and I actually want to be hands on.

After reading the info here, and it was overwhelming, I went and purchased Meguiars NXT wax. I also bought some terry towels to remove the wax.

My car is only 2 weeks old, so I don't know if I am going to see the benefits or a better shine immediatly since the car is pretty shiny as it is.

But I got a couple of questions....

A-What exactly does a Wax do?
B-I always thought wax was hard to put on, this seems simple...whats the difference between Meguiars and turtle wax?
C-How often should I wax the car to keep the shine?
D-How should I wash my car? I am going to do it myself. But what soap, or proper step should i take.
E-How does this affect the invisishield?
F-Any tips so I can get the best out of my car.

I love my Roxie already, a little over 2 weeks and 950 miles and is the most fun i've had driving. My nephew just turned 9 and I am looking forward to the day I can give him the car so he can enjoy it.

Thanks for all the info here and all the great discussions.

·
Sullivan Racing
1,117 Posts
charlief1975 said:
I will say it right of the bat....I am a complete newb when it comes to washing/maintining the exterior of a car. Previous car I only washed...and that was not a quality job, since it was an SUV and got dirty pretty fast, i just cleaned it every week.

So, I got my Mini...and I actually want to be hands on.

After reading the info here, and it was overwhelming, I went and purchased Meguiars NXT wax. I also bought some terry towels to remove the wax.