MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, all! I would be the first to admit that I am not very good at waiting for things. (y wife would agree!). Like a kid at Christmas, I want it to be here NOW!

3 weeks ago we put our money down on a new JCW convertible, Chili Red. We're both retired and wanted one last fun car. After about two days our dealer gave us the Build Number. A few days of checking on the Mini Owner's Lounge and being told to check back soon, two weeks ago today the number "Hit" and we were told by the "Track My Mini" function that it was "Scheduled for Production "

As I understand it, this status continues until the car leaves the assembly line. Checking other threads here, people seem to say that this process takes 6-8 days, which I assume are work days.

Well, two weeks later the status has not changed. I checked the excellent FAQ sticky on this site for checking production status, and found the 1-866-ASK MINI number. (I hate to pester my dealer unless it would help). I called it and gave the machine my production number. Back came the reply that it was scheduled for completion August 18, two weeks from now and a full 4 weeks after it entered the nether world of "Scheduled for Production "

From the FAQ sticky, I kind of thought that I would at least get a 3-digit status number (like "153 Assembly Started ") but the voice simply said it was in production and scheduled for completion August 18.

Frustrating, and at least if they could tell me what the problem was things would be a little better. I am not getting younger, I have this "immediate gratification required' gene, and worst, we live in Colorado and any time after October 1 (the date our dealer hoped we would see it by) we are in danger of SNOW! Our baby will not know what snow is if we can help it.