MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to a mk2 Cooper S and have had nothing but problems! It’s had a full engine rebuild and then a module in the footwell went. Now I’m getting a whirring sound from 20mph+ from the front end. It’s not a bearing noise and the sound stays pretty constant throughout. Has anyone had anything similar / have any idea what it could be?

·
Premium Member
2008 Mini Cooper S hatchback,Automatic,Mello Yellow
565 Posts
If you don't have a code for it then you might have to run it until it breaks. I would check for vacuum leaks. I would pull the Vacuum pump and look at the amount of play it has on the gear that meshes with the exhaust cam to begin with.
That Vacuum pump can do un told amounts of damage to your car in a milla second. And if that is whirring it would mean that the impeller gear that creates vacuum is scoring the vacuum pump housing. Due to lack of oil or just damage of some sort.
After that I would just run it if there is no code and I could not pin point the problem because it would more than likely break itself and not take the whole engine out!

·
Registered
225 Posts
Do not follow the above "advice" to "run it until it beaks".

If it only happens above 20mph, not when stationary, then it points to something in the drivetrain.

·
Registered
532 Posts
if in any gear or coasting it's probably drivetrain as above, check the gearbox oil level and for play in bearings anyway, does it change with load or direction?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
if in any gear or coasting it's probably drivetrain as above, check the gearbox oil level and for play in bearings anyway, does it change with load or direction?
So yes, it happens in any gear and when coasting. It’s not a wheel bearing sound, nor is there any play in them. And it doesn’t change with load or direction. It’s a tough one to diagnose.

·
Premium Member
2008 Mini Cooper S hatchback,Automatic,Mello Yellow