MINI Cooper Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am a very recent mini newbie having only done 250 miles in my new mini one...
I absolutely LOVE it however it has had a couple of issues.
Firstly after collecting from the dealership, I opened the bonnet at home to find the air intake pipe NOT connected (ie the pipe that directs cool air to the engine was flailing around) after a motorway trip!! I was horrified! Clicked it in and shouted at the dealer on the phone.
The reason I had opened the bonnet was at idle and driving (not accelerating) there is a loud sqealing/whining coming from the engine at the front right.
After connecting the pipe I had another day of happy motoring, but with the noise driving me insane!
To some, it is not that bad but to me it is LOUD. When you pull up at the lights and there is a car next to you the sound bounces off and is a proper squeal.

At first I thought hmm maybe a fan belt (it sounds like an old car with a slipping fanbelt), then maybe the alternator belt as it stops when accelerating.

I took it into my closest dealer, they had it for a long time, and came back saying book it in for an overnight tuesday we need to hear it cold start (fyi its very loud on cold start). He had suggested the alternator poly v belt and the pump. The paper the service woman had said PUMA - PARTS MAY SOLVE NOISE. She said it was a suspected water pump?

Anyone else had this noise? Or needed a new pump on a brand new car? or indeed had one and had it solve the noise?

Also, how quiet should the engine be in a one at idle? Mine sounds very tappety? Revs smoothly though.

Hope someone has some insight!

Cheers,:puzzled:

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
water pump

Not that anyone replied (?!) but I have found out today that my 8 day old mini needs a new water pump.:aargh: Its been on the road only 5 and a half days since I got it...

Is this normal!!?

·
Registered
1,851 Posts